BANNER MOUNTAIN GIRL#28 “Red Daylilies”

RED DAYLILIES

The house is empty now
and no one tends
the flowers, growing still
along the walk where once
I strolled with Mama.

My hand in hers, she walked
with me and talked about
the blue hydrangeas,
Phlox of pink,
daylilies red, and
golden black-eyed Susans,
dazzling at their peak
of color
in the sun.

I walk along the
silent footpath now,
where only shadows move.
I miss Mama.

© Freeda Baker Nichols

4 comments on “BANNER MOUNTAIN GIRL#28 “Red Daylilies”

  1. Flowers keep us connected. We had a rose bush that produced many flowers which mother would clip and put in a vase. When she did it stopped blooming.

    Like

  2. Beautiful! I love the mood you created.

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

