BANNER MOUNTAIN GIRL # 20 “THE COLOR RED”

redwing blackbirdTHE COLOR RED

the red wing of the blackbird

the cardinal on the trellis,
the redbird in the maple tree,

the red stripe of America’s flag
the cardinal in the rain will soon dry
and fly again, as great as before!

© 2017 Freeda Baker Nichols

DSC_0814DSC_0216dsc_0030cardinal in the rain

17 comments on “BANNER MOUNTAIN GIRL # 20 “THE COLOR RED”

  1. I Wilkerson says:

    You know I love your birds, but the cat behind the flag is too cute!

    Like

  2. Again, photography is just beautiful. You seem to be a talented photographer. Good few little poetic lines as well. Overall, a good post! Keep it going.

    Like

  3. You made me smile!

    Like

  4. gleefulee says:

    Your photos brighten this gray day, and the words are hopeful!

    Like

    • Oh, hello there, gleefulee! It’s been a while since I’ve heard from you. Nice to hear from you! Thanks so much. Hope all is well! 🙂

      Like

      • gleefulee says:

        Life is a bit topsy-turvy, but fun! I resumed my column writing for the local paper, and right now am in the midst of a little story I have been writing in installments. What fun that is sharing one of my real-life Current River adventures that way.! I put all those columns in my blog and publish them there several weeks after each appears in print. And I took a part-time gig as a content editor for a new print magazine in Poplar Bluff! My gust deadline is April 5 for all my contributions -cover story et al- and in comes out May 1. I love the writing but the computer stuff is a real challenge!

        Like

        • Congratulations! Sounds like fun. Our local paper published a few of my short stories, fiction ones, and I loved that! But editors changed and ended that. I’d like to see your work in the new magazine! That’s great!

          Like

  5. Pat Durmon says:

    Yes!!! Red, red, red!

    On Tue, Mar 28, 2017 at 8:22 AM, Freeda Baker Nichols wrote:

    > Freeda Baker Nichols posted: “THE COLOR RED the red wing of the blackbird > the cardinal on the trellis, the redbird in the maple tree, the red stripe > of America’s flag the cardinal in the rain will soon dry and fly again, as > great as before! © 2017 Freeda Baker Nichols ” >

    Liked by 1 person

  6. More excellent photos and nice poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. dot says:

    Beautiful birds and beautiful words. Ahhhh I made a rhyme! Love your photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. spunkonastick says:

    Your cardinal shots are beautiful, but I’ll admit I’m partial to the black kitty.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

