BANNER MOUNTAIN GIRL # 10

Banner MountainBanner Mountain Girl # 10

Sometimes when snow fell at Banner Mountain, my mother would look out at the big, white snowflakes peppering down and she would tell us kids, “The old goose is losing her feathers.”
            That expression coming from Mama was a pleasant thought but of course we kids were old enough to know it was a game Mama played – a game of make-believe. Why not just say, “Oh look! It’s snowing!”

            Too dull-sounding.

             A sky full of feathers falling off a goose nudged my imagination and gave me a reason to dream. That image was far more motivational than “Look at the big snowflakes.”
            Perhaps Mama’s way of entertaining us was the beginning of my desire to become a writer. Mama herself was inspirational to me. She always said I was happy with a pencil in my hand and a tablet to write on.
            My love for my mama and her love for me is the reason my first poem was written to her and about her.  I wrote it at school in cursive on a page in my Big Chief tablet when I was nine years old. And then I shared it with Mama.
            While I was not certain my little rhyming poem was as clear to Mama as it was to me, I’m thankful she was the first person, besides my teacher, to read my very first creative writing. At that time, there was no fridge in our house on which to pin up the poem, like parents can do today.
          But Mama kept it for me, and I still have it somewhere in my files.

© 2017 Freeda Baker Nichols

14 comments on “BANNER MOUNTAIN GIRL # 10

  1. I Wilkerson says:

    “The old goose is losing her feathers.” Love it!

    Like

  2. Such a beautiful walk down memory lane. I love your mother’s description of the snow! Hope you find and share your first poem. Wish I had mine.

    Like

  3. Lovely that your mum inspired you to write x

    Like

  4. Pat Durmon says:

    Sweet, sweet: the photo and blog

    Like

  5. The road sure looks cold Brrrr 🙂

    Like

  6. I love your mother’s comment about the snow. Although I’ve never heard it before, it reminds me of things my mother’s family said. Sweet post.

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

