Columbus Day

dsc_0030

I learned how to remember when Columbus discovered America by memorizing a poem, shared with us by our teacher.

fourteen hundred ninety-two
Columbus sailed the ocean blue

This new kitty rescued from a maple tree one night has discovered how our flag swirls in the breeze.

Columbus Day–a holiday for many. A good day to recall how I learned to remember when and by whom America was discovered.

It is also a good day to write poetry.  Yet, I have no new poetry to share. But such as I have, I’ll share with you:

fourteen hundred ninety-two
Columbus sailed the ocean blue

Did anyone else memorize this verse to help you remember this date and this discovery?

–Freeda Baker Nichols

 

 

4 comments on “Columbus Day

  1. I Wilkerson says:

    Yes, I remember learning that. Cougar looks cute!

    Like

    • It’s a good way to help the memory work! This kitty is not Cougar. It’s a kitten that must have been dropped off near my son’s house. Our grandson found it at night in a maple tree near where he parks his truck. So, they kept it and I’m having fun photographing it. It does look very much like Cougar. We think it’s a “she.” 🙂

      Like

  2. That’s a great way to remember it. Iconic moment indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

