Messaging, then and now . . .

DSC_0471Early spring mornings are memory makers. From the first chill of cool, fresh air as I step down the lane to the mailbox, I am excited and looking forward to opening the box. And no, there’s not anything of interest in there. A couple of bills and a magazine. No checks or letters from editors, today. No cards or letters from friends.

Actually, texting, messaging, phone and Facebook are the means of communication nowadays. My memory is beginning to fade about how wonderful it was to open an envelope, unfold a letter to find the ink-written or pencil-written words from a dear friend. I hope I never forget the immeasurable joy of having had that experience.

Communication still happens, perhaps stronger than ever, judging by the many cell phones turned on in public places at any given time. Mine included.
–Freeda Baker Nichols

 

 

7 comments on “Messaging, then and now . . .

  1. vibhash says:

    remembrance of those old days…..

    Like

  2. I love REAL mail. I LOVE the bluebirds. Ours haven’t come back yet. I look for them this week.

    Like

  3. love getting a card or note in the mail…”Money” can be good too…lol!

    Like

  4. I love to get notes and letters, but I also text my grandchildren because they answer. But I miss written missives. (I hope our bluebirds come back this year.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope your bluebirds come back, too, and they probably will. Do you have a birdhouse for them? The bluebird scouted this box, but chose another one that he had last year. Now, the nuthatch has built in this box.

      Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

