Ercil Form of Poetry

yellow flowers

Like a Chameleon

A summer haze
the temperature high
the air is hot as campfire blaze
the leaves that once were tender, crinkle dry–
we wait for rain
The churning clouds turn gray
no rain appears though clouds remain
then people at the churches start to pray
a rain falls clear and clean
the leaves change back to green.

© 2015 Freeda Baker Nichols

This form is an Ercil: 10 iambic lines with syllable count of 4-6-8-10-4-6-8-10-6-6
Rhyme: a-b-a-b-c-d-c-d-e-e

Poet or not, would you care to write an Ercil form of poem? I found the pattern through Poets’ Roundtable of Arkansas.

The Ercil is an invented form introduced by James Gray, created in honor of Arkansas poet, Ercil Brown.

8 comments on “Ercil Form of Poetry

  1. Thanks for introducing me to the Ercil and I like yours. 🙂

    Like

  2. Lovely poem. I could stand there and take in that view all day long. So beautiful.

    Like

  3. vrpruett says:

    I do like all of the pictures you share with the poems.

    Like

  4. Catherine Johnson says:

    Very nice, Freeda. I’ll try it sometime

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain