PONY OF MINE

ponies

Pony of Mine

Pony, take me south to see
mountains, meadows. Lucky me!
Take me past the waterfall
trot by woods where trees are tall;
prance along the forest trail
by the stream where leaf-boats sail;
race the wild ones you’ve befriended,
play until the day has ended.
Tell all of your friends goodbye
as the sun drops from the sky.
Make your little feet take flight
homeward bound before the night.
In your stable may you sleep,
Little Pony, mine to keep.

© Freeda Baker Nichols

14 comments on “PONY OF MINE

  1. What a sweet tale/tail! A delight, and a charm.
    xo,
    Kathryn
    PS—Love your new photo! 🙂

    Like

  2. Alice says:

    Reminds me of When I was Young in the Mountains…a rolling pony rhythm.

    Like

  3. I continue to float as I read your poems. They are so wonderful! Wish I had your gift.

    Like

  4. vrpruett says:

    LIKE – 🙂

    Like

  5. spanishwoods says:

    I love this. Beautiful.

    Like

  6. spunkonastick says:

    That was really sweet.

    Like

  7. Catherine Johnson says:

    Lovely, Freeda!

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

