Turpentine Promises

Turpentine Promises

You squeezed my hand and promised to be true
that day we carved our names upon a pine,
but then you left. Now what am I to do?back road

In greening spring, I gave a ring to you;
from that day forward, you would be just mine.
You squeezed my hand and promised to be true.

I thought our skies would be a soothing blue,
and that our love would always be divine.
But then you left, now what am I to do?

Your first kiss turned my steady heart askew
the night the moon revealed its silver shine.
You squeezed my hand and promised to be true.

You soon began to treat me like a shrew,
or worse, a jellyfish without a spine.
But then you left, now what am I to do?

Our blissful days were destined to be few;
their sweetness soured like scent of turpentine.
You squeezed my hand and promised to be true,
but then you left, now what am I to do?

© Freeda Baker Nichols

8 comments on “Turpentine Promises

  1. dotlatjohn says:

    Sounds like a country song. Great pictures. I remember what turpentine smelled like even though it’s been years since I was around any.

    Like

  2. vrpruett says:

    Very good poem. The meaning I get from it though, I think she was lucky he went away, what ever she decides to do may be better than what she had. But then again maybe whoever reads it will interpret in a different way. 🙂

    Like

  3. Dot says:

    Love this poem, Freeda and you have added some nice pictures,

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

