I Wait Alone

rose-1

Your heart, I thought, was ever true
but something changed and you have gone
to keep another rendezvous
with someone else — I wait alone.

I thought that you would be my own.
Your heart, I thought, was ever true,
but now it is as cold as stone
and every day I feel so blue.

My happy days have been too few.
My wedding plans I must postpone.
Your heart, I thought, was ever true;
it cracked like brittle cornerstone,

and flew away like wild seeds sown.
I close my eyes and think of you
and listen for the telephone.
Your heart, I thought, was ever true.

© Freeda Baker Nichols

This poem is in the quatern pattern and it was published in “Lucidity–A Journal of Verse.”

8 comments on “I Wait Alone

  1. dotlatjohn says:

    Enjoyed your poem. The rose is beautiful.

    Like

  2. vrpruett says:

    Very good, but sad for the one left behind. But life goes on, sometimes better things come for the one left behind. 🙂

    Like

  3. As always, I enjoyed your poem. Sad, but oh so true of so many of life’s bitter experiences and beautifully written.

    Like

  4. Catherine Johnson says:

    Love it, Freeda!

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

