LOVE REMAINS

Turquoise waters,
the color of my eyes, you said,
that day when tardy winter came
filling the trees with snowflakes.
My bare arms were cold against
your warm hands as you wrapped denim-clad
arms about me, your Hemingway Cap pulled
over your ears.  “I love you,” you said. “Me,
too,” I replied.  You laughed, but I cried,
releasing a tear that cracked the
moment it touched my cheek and shattered into crystal
pieces. I awoke and hugging me were green muslin sheets;
caressing my cheek was a goose-down pillow, soaked cold
with tears.  Your plane, the uniformed men had said,
went down . . . in the . . . Atlantic . . . nose-dived into the
deep, turquoise waters.

© 2000 Freeda Baker Nichols
Third Place, Rosa Zagnoni Marinoni Award, Poetry Day 2000
Published in Poets’ Roundtable of Arkansas 2002

13 comments on “LOVE REMAINS

  1. Robyn Campbell says:

    LOVE this, Freeda. I love the circle it makes. A most beautiful poem. So sad, yet so full of happiness (the love they shared).

    Like

  2. Aol.com says:

    This is the one I commented on the other day, so trying again to see if I entered correct info this time,

    Like

  3. How touching, your poem. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Catherine Johnson says:

    Lovely, Freeda. You make it sound real.

    Like

  5. Dot says:

    Ooooo very good. I notice it’s from 2000 but I’ve never heard it. Sad, but good.

    Like

  6. fiction or truth?…lovely sad!

    Like

  7. Anonymous says:

    Like this one

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

