Looking for my Voice

There’s an old joke that used to float around — about a wife who owned many hats and loved to wear them.
One day she put on a fancy one and said to her husband, “I was down in the dumps today and I found this!”

“Oh, so that’s where you get them!” he replied.

                                                                           * * *

It’s Thursday and here are the words I promised. I want to introduce my imaginary sidekick, who is newly created, as of tonight, and, as yet, un-named.

Well, as a writer, I’m not down in the dumps . . .
and I’m not looking for a hat.
But I am looking . . . for something.

I’m looking for my voice.

My imaginary sidekick says, “What? Have you lost your voice? Do you have laryngitis?”

I reply, “Of course not. Do I look sick?”

“Well, no, but why are you looking for your voice?”

“It’s my writing voice,” I reply. “It’s the voice I need to use when I write stories. You know, like Ernest– like Harper– like Mark . . . ?”

“I remember when the mentor at Hemingway Pfeiffer Writer’s Retreat compared your voice to that of Eudora Welty. Remember that?”

“Yes, that was when he critiqued my story about Kit. But since then, I’ve misplaced my voice. And I’m looking for it so I can finish that series on Kit.”

My room at the Downtown Inn, Piggott, Arkansas, where I stayed while attending the Hemingway Pfeiffer Writer's Retreats.

My room at the Downtown Inn, Piggott, Arkansas, where I stayed while attending the Hemingway Pfeiffer Writer’s Retreats.

13 comments on “Looking for my Voice

  1. Aol.com says:

    Just re reading today

    Like

  2. You made me laugh! Put that hat on and just keep writing. It’s in there somewhere.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dot says:

    Good post, Freeda. I feel your frustration. It’s bad when we lose our voice.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Put on a hat that you love take a break, the “voice” may come back stronger than ever to get you going again.
    I really like the this photo and all the touches you have added.

    Like

  5. loved the joke…maybe it’s time for a little retreat to spark those writing juices…You know they are there!

    Like

  6. Catherine Johnson says:

    That was fun, Freeda. I don’t feel like I’ve got one voice yet for poetry so I don’t need to worry about losing it. I hope you find yours again.

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

