Dear Editor “Blogging 101”

© Freeda Baker Nichols’ Blogging 101 Assignment: Targeting my audience. Feb. 4, 2015

Ozark Calendars Editor
Ozark, Ozarks

Dear Editor:

I have admired your beautiful calendars for years. In fact, since I was a child. Mother always bought your calendars. Year after year, one of your calendars hung on the wall in our modest little home out on the mountain. Mother’s gone now, and Papa, too.  I don’t live on the mountain anymore.
But I live close by. And I’ve become a photographer.

Many, many people have told me that my pictures would be good in calendars. I tend to agree. So I’ve prepared this portfolio to send to you in hopes that you will see how these pictures resemble the kind of pictures you always print on your calendars.

 

DSC_0266

 

 

 

 

 

 

this is Mama Cat
she had two litters of cats
and she’s retired now

DSC_0267

 

 

 

 

 

this here is Twister
I wanted to name him Storm
but Mister said no

DSC_0713

 

 

 

 

 

this cat is Calvin
he likes to hunt and climb trees
he once caught a shrew

goat

 

 

 

 

 

the brown goat, Copper,
loves to run on the hillside
in Ozark Mountains

 

So, Dear Editor, this is just a sample of my many pictures. If they appear to be to your liking, and if you should like to see more samples, it will be my pleasure to send them to you. And so, I will close now.

Yours truly,

a photographer in the Ozarks

10 comments on “Dear Editor “Blogging 101”

  1. I Wilkerson says:

    You know I’ve been impressed with how good a photographer you have become–especially for someone whose goal was to share their writing! I agree with the other readers that your photos are worthy of being on a calendar!

    Like

  2. TJ says:

    this is a great, unique dream audience! and your pictures are great so i wouldn’t be surprised if it worked out 🙂 good luck with things! i’d love it if you took a look at my blog as well! ~The TJ Blog

    Like

  3. maggiepea says:

    Great photos! I love the black and white cat photo, very stunning! Good luck on going somewhere with this!!!

    Like

  4. Dot says:

    As usual, beautiful pictures. I hope the editor responds and you get the ‘gig’.

    Like

    • Thanks, Dot. As always, support from my critique group members stands out like the sun shining. Golden. Appreciated. Today and always, I wish you the best in your lovely writing projects in progress, and with the marketing of your books. To my blogging friends, check out my friend’s blog here: http://www.dothatfield.com/

      Like

  5. and…did you send it?… because you should…maybe put in a few birds!

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

