On A Sunny Day

On A Sunny Day

The sun came out today
and a dark cloud hid its face
when sunbeams cast a light across the blue.
Little lambs ran to play.
A monkey joined in the race,
also two donkeys and a kangaroo.
They skipped and hopped along
like marching in a parade
headed to the main street of Happy Town.
They stopped to sing a song
beneath a tree in cool shade,
and then they played until the sun went down.

© 2015 Freeda Baker Nichols

DSC_0866 - Copy-1Where the grass is greener . . .OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

This poem is the KERF pattern, 12-lines arranged in four groupings of 3 lines each with syllable count of 6-7-10 and a rhyme scheme of abc, abc, def, def.
My poem turned into one for children, but this pattern works well for general poems, as well. To the poets, I think you’ll like this form. Why not try one?

12 comments on “On A Sunny Day

  1. […] Freeda wrote a lovely poem on her blog the other day in the KERF pattern and it sounded fun so I had a go. Read Freeda’s here. […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I Wilkerson says:

    So many different poetry forms! This almost made me feel warm for a little while.

    Like

  3. Such a sweet poem. It rolls off your tongue.

    Like

  4. Warren Johnson says:

    Really like the poem.

    Like

  5. Catherine Johnson says:

    What a fun poem. I really like this form.

    Like

    • It really is a fun poem. My first time to write one, so it’s still in draft mode. lol Try one. Are you free to use any form on MOP? I don’t recall how that works. I miss MOP, but I felt like I didn’t have the time to spend with it this year.

      Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

