Heartbroken in the Ozarks

Here’s my first attempt to write a Gardenia form of poetry. It may not follow the pattern, but I’ve tried. Here it is: This form is attributed to Viola Gardner. It features ten lines containing  two amphibrachs each, with couplet rhyming.

HEARTBROKEN

A girl and her fella
could sing a capella.
Her guy, no prize winner,
came late to her dinner.
A groovy humdinger,
toe-tapping rock singer.
In love she’s unlucky–
he went to Kentucky
with words yet unspoken
and left her heartbroken.

© 2015 (photo & poem) by Freeda Baker Nichols
All rights reserved.

Arkansas Junior Rodeo

 

 

9 comments on “Heartbroken in the Ozarks

  1. Funny 🙂 in a good way.

    Like

  2. I loved it. And, I know nothing about poetry and style. So, I’m impressed. Reminded me of a ditty.

    Like

  3. dotlatjohn says:

    You made me giggle!

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

