Icicles at Walmart Parking Lot

DSC_0006

Winter Surprise

On winter days
when ice and snow come down,
I lounge in my old robe and laze
around the house and wear a wrinkled frown.
To pass  the time
I write upon a page,
a masterpiece without a rhyme.
To read it, one might think I’m quite a sage
for much to my surprise,
it wins the highest prize!

© 2015, Freeda Baker Nichols

This form is an Ercil: 4-6-8-10-4-6-8-10-6-6
Rhyme: a-b-a-b-c-d-c-d-e-e

7 comments on “Icicles at Walmart Parking Lot

  1. I too… like the line about lounging in my old robe…very typical of me…on cold days!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Martha Williams York says:

    Wow!

    Like

  3. dotlatjohn says:

    I like that lounge in my old robe line. The icicles look like fringe.

    Like

  4. At times I suppose you just never know which poem or writing is the one that will end up being what gives you a prize.

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

