A Crazy Poet

Freeda Baker Nichols, writing on porch of the Pfeiffer House at Hemingway Writers' Retreat

Freeda Baker Nichols, writing on porch of the Pfeiffer House at Hemingway Writers’ Retreat

Today’s post is a Frieze poem from my recently-created journal of short works. The Frieze pattern: nine lines of iambic trimeter with lines 2, 4 and 8 having an extra syllable because of their rhymed feminine endings.  It rhymes, a, b, c, b, a, c, a, b, c.

A Crazy Poet

I sometimes wonder why
I am a crazy poet
whenever I recite.
My poems surely show it.
I breathe a heavy sigh
as I begin to write
with words that signify
I’m crazy but don’t know it.
It’s my poetic plight!

© 2014 Freeda Baker Nichols

12 comments on “A Crazy Poet

  1. Catherine Johnson says:

    Brilliant, Freeda!

    Like

  2. Fun poem. Love that wrap around porch. Can imagine Hemingway sitting there writing.

    Like

  3. A delightful porch to chit-chat the hours away about this and that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Do you suppose Hemingway ever sat on this porch trying to think of something to write? Most of his writing time while visiting his wife’s relatives in Piggott was probably spent out in the barn studio. This is a unique place for writers’ retreats. I love going there. Thanks for commenting. Have a good evening!

      Like

  4. You are a good poet. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dotlatjohn says:

    Cute poem. I need to check out this form and try it myself. Love the HP picture.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dot says:

    Freeda, this poem is clever as can be. And you look good there on the porch of HP.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

