I Am Also A Poet

If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music he hears, however measured or far away.”
Henry David Thoreau

I’m a writer and I am also a poet.

I was a poet before I became a writer.

My first poem was created in a two-room schoolhouse at Banner Mountain deep in the Ozark foothills.

At the age of eight or nine, I wrote a rhymed poem expressing my love for my mother.

I still have the poem I penciled on a wide-lined page of a Big Chief tablet.DSC_0472 - Copy 1

But is that really when I became a poet? I don’t know. Perhaps it was later in my life when my first published poem appeared.  Or maybe it was when I received an award in a poetry contest. Or better yet, when I received payment from a national magazine. 🙂

Why did I become a poet? Again, I don’t know. The desire to create poems and stories was part of me from childhood. I wrote occasionally, but as time went on, my husband and our children were more important to me than writing. That feeling is shown here in my rhymed poem:

I am a poetess, Mama—
I wish I were a queen
having tea with diplomats
in a rose-trimmed garden scene.

I am a poetess, Mama—
I wish I were a clown
wearing a smile, wide and bright,
to hide my solemn frown.

I am a poetess, Mama—
I wish I were his wife,
the only role worth playing
in the grand opera of life.

© Freeda Baker Nichols

And so, I too, have heard the “different drummer” and that sound continues to be a blessing in my life.

How about you? Do you “step to the music you hear, however measured or far away?”

I’d love to hear from you!

 

 

8 comments on “I Am Also A Poet

  1. Dot says:

    When did you become a poet? Well, since I believe “poets are born, not made” the answer would be you have always been a poet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I too love to read your poems. When I am reading them I see the story of where the thoughts may have come from. But yet even when it wasn’t based on a life experience, I can also think “yes that could happen”. Or maybe at times I think, this was so enjoyable that I wish there had been more. But no matter what, I will keep reading and enjoying all that you care to share with so many of us readers.
    Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved hearing more background about you as a poet. Love the big tablet. Special for your family. You truly are a poet, that’s why I enjoy visiting. Yes, I march to the tune of a different drummer and always have. I think of myself as a seeker.

    Like

  4. dotlatjohn says:

    Such a sweet poem, Freeda. You are a poet, for sure. I love words,what i call turn of phrases. Sometimes a line of poetry will form in my mind and grow until I have to commit it paper.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

