Another Villanelle “My Love”

My love for you will never die
but shall grow stronger, everyday
while eagles flap their wings to fly.

Across the blue unending sky
where clouds like angels fly away,
my love for you will never die.

Without you here, I start to cry.
I wonder why you did not stay
while eagles flap their wings to fly.

Beside the mountain green and high,
my heart will never go astray.
My love for you will never die.

And still I ask the question why
my blue unending sky turns gray
while eagles flap their wings to fly.

My heart will soar and sail and sigh
above the clouds where angels play.
My love for you will never die
while eagles flap their wings to fly.

© Freeda Baker Nichols

DSC_0017

3 comments on “Another Villanelle “My Love”

  1. Such a beutiful and heartfelt poem. So hard to move forward after the loss o a loved one.

    It looks so pretty outside — we had 5 in of snow today.

    Like

    • Sounds like a pretty snow. Ours came last night, but now it’s nearly gone after the sun came out. Only an inch or two. Not so cold today, but supposed to get down to 9 degrees tonight.

      Thanks for the comment on the poem. I haven’t had as much time at the computer lately, and I’m sure I’m missing your blog. Hope to get back to a routine and catch up with my blogging buddies. Appreciate you.

      Like

  2. ginger kemp pruett says:

    🙂

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

