With Honor I Salute America

Flag of the U.S.A.With Honor I Salute America

With honor I can stand, salute the flag,
feel happy that I live where we are free.
I can be humble if I wish, or brag
of lands that lie in splendor by the sea.
I can condemn or praise our president
as he proceeds with plans not guaranteed.
I may support his cause without comment,
or bellow loudly that I’ve disagreed.
And as I worship in my church of choice
on Sundays when the sun breaks out to shine,
I pray with gratitude as I rejoice
to claim this costly freedom that is mine.
May Glory ever wave atop her stand
in every yard across my country land.

© 2014, Freeda Baker Nichols

 

DSC_0448

8 comments on “With Honor I Salute America

  1. johncoyote says:

    Reblogged this on johncoyote and commented:
    A outstanding poem. Please read.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Catherine Johnson says:

    Super, Freeda!

    Like

  3. Lovely poem. Great for Veteran’s Day.

    Like

  4. ginger kemp pruett says:

    This is a very good poem. At least we do have the freedom to say and think what we want. We should be very grateful for these rights.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

