A Villanelle

PLANEBETRAYED

Your face is ever on my mind.
I am alone both day and night
since you have left me far behind.
There is no new love I can find,
no one to calmly hold me tight;
your face is ever on my mind.
To be alone I do not mind
although I feel a helpless fright
since you have left me far behind.
No one will ever be as kind
as you, my love, sweet dove in flight —
your face is ever on my mind.
Just like the ivy leaves entwined,
my heart is now a tangled sight,
since you have left me far behind.
How can I trust mere words to bind
when your love died like candlelight?
Your face is ever on my mind
since you have left me far behind.

© Freeda Baker Nichols

20 comments on “A Villanelle

  1. Effective use of refrain technique.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Catherine Johnson says:

    Beautiful, Freeda!

    Like

  3. had never heard the term…Villanelles”…but, as you know…I am learning every day…and that’s a good thing!

    Like

  4. Dot says:

    I love villanelles, and I love this one. So poignant and meaningful for those who wait.

    Like

  5. dotlatjohn says:

    Ah, the Villanelle. I should work another one. Yours is nice. Are you going to HP in November?

    Like

  6. Ah, I love villanelles and I loved yours. Very good! Here’s a link to one of mine:

    http://thebardonthehill.wordpress.com/2014/08/06/no-shadow-moving-none-at-all-by-dennis-lange/

    Like

  7. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    This to me brings to mind all the women who have loved ones away in these trying times. It may not be meant to sound that way but it’s how I read it in my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is simply beautiful! I am not familiar with a Villanelle, but I enjoyed reading it repeatedly to get a sense of the form. Oh so lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. theodorazheng says:

    Villanelles are my favorite form of poetry and I’m so glad you posted this! You made it work well and brought out the best of the form! Congrats! LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE ❤ Thank you so much for sharing this this made my night ahhh 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

