Character in stories– what is it?

What is character in fiction? I’m still learning and I’m still writing.  Foster-Harris in “The Basic Patterns of Plot” states that  “. . . character is nothing in the world but the objective aspects of plot; character is the sign left by a story that has happened.”

How awesome is that?  The sign left by a story that has happened!

So, as I see this, if the story has happened, then as a writer I must tell it, but first, I need to choose a viewpoint character. All kinds of questions jump into my mind. What do I name him or her? What kind of character is he or she? Is the character subjective or objective? What if readers don’t like the main character?

According to Foster-Harris, a good story has at least one subjective character and a number of objective ones. His theory is that if a reader does not prefer the one, he will like some of the others.

That’s encouraging!

With one fiction novel published, I’m presently working on another one about a character named  Calypso.

As I write, I refer to “The Basic Patterns of Plot.” This book is now out of print .  It was part of my study through the professional writing courses of the University of Oklahoma. And it is still good help.

To writers in the blogging world,  how do you define character in a story?

 

2 comments on “Character in stories– what is it?

  1. I Wilkerson says:

    I always think of the former Green Bay Packers kicker–Ryan Longwell. I don’t think a writer could make up a better name than that!

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

