This Children’s Poem . . .

. . . To my readers,
This children’s poem is still in progress. Sometimes a poem is in progress for years before it’s complete. Amazing, isn’t ?  But I enjoy this poem and want to share it along with my photos. I hope you enjoy it, too, and that some of you might read it to your children or grandchildren. Thanks.

Blue lily, day lily,
what do you say, lily?
Have you seen Felicia,
the filly?

She jumped over the jonquils
out there by the pond
and pranced through the peonies
down in the front yard.
Foal Day 21 030-2

Blue lily, day lily,
what do you say, lily?
Where will Felicia,
the filly,
spend cold winter days?

There in the mountains of snow
where Red River rushes with glee,
where cowboys no longer chase horses
and horses forever run free.
© 2014 Freeda Baker Nichols
DSC_0089 - CopyDSC_0014DSC_0761

8 comments on “This Children’s Poem . . .

  1. Mary McCool says:

    Freeda, I loved your poem! If I still taught Kindergarten, I could see myself reading and using this poem for a whole literacy unit! It was great!

    Like

  2. Love pictures of foals. Lively poem.

    Like

  3. this poem reminds me of ones we would memorize when in Elementary School…

    Like

  4. dotlatjohn says:

    That’s sweet, Freeda. I love the shot of the horse jumping or bucking or maybe she’s dancing.

    Like

  5. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    It sounds good, the photos are nice too.

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

