“Call of the Cadron” Give-Away

The count’s in! And, as of today, the record shows 800 followers to “My True Sentence.” Happy to see that! Now then, it’s time to arrange for the give-away of a copy of my book, “Call of the Cadron.”  This is a story of college graduate, Jordan Diane Maxey who puts aside her dreams to help her family run the farm, their livelihood,  when her father becomes crippled. This 200-page novel combines romance, adventure and mystery.  The book’s cover was painted by my sister, Yvonne Hall, an accomplished artist who lives in California.

 

CALL of the CADRON

 

But first, I want to share this award-winning poem of how things were here in the Ozarks in the severe drought of 1980.  Sometimes laughter helps pave our way through bad times.

Gratitude

When summer drought was choking earth with dust,
our yard became a dry and parched terrain.
My husband sat and fumed in mild disgust
and wished each day a thousand times for rain.

“Why don’t you turn the sprinkler on?” I said.
“Because I can’t afford such great expense,”
he groaned and looked for storm clouds overhead
and wished a gully washer would commence.

Then thunder boomed; a streak of lightning popped
and rain came rushing down from clouds of gray.
“Wasn’t that nice?” I asked, when it had stopped.
His only words: “It washed my soil away!”

c Copyright, 2012, Freeda Baker Nichols

Farm equipmentSo now,  if you’d like, leave a comment below for a chance to win a copy of my book.  You may leave a comment here or on Facebook. I’ll announce the winner on Monday. #excited!

16 comments on ““Call of the Cadron” Give-Away

  1. Kim says:

    Fun poem. Our human nature is often humorous when we can take a step back and see it. Your book sounds interesting. I live near the Cadron, and would like to read it. I enjoy your blog.

    Like

  2. Tabbetha says:

    I am excited to read this novel..not only does it take place in an area that I have grown up in, it also takes place in the year I was born! 🙂

    Like

  3. Catherine Johnson says:

    That’s hilarious, Freeda!

    Like

  4. Your humor shows through in this poem…You had it all along!

    Like

  5. Love the farm equipment pic!

    Like

  6. Fun poem. Love the ending. Oh, I didn’t realized one of the characters has a disability. Is this YA or Young Adult fiction?

    Like

    • Not really YA, but it might work. It’s mainstream and G-rated. Light romance. The girl’s father was paralyzed in a car wreck as the family was returning home from her college graduation. From that point, Jordan stays at home to help out. She faces many challenges as she helps take care of three younger siblings.

      Like

  7. Jim Barton says:

    Reminds me of my late grandfather, preacher and farmer, who prayed for rain in dry times and sunshine when rain stayed too long. It’s true human nature. Good poem.

    Like

    • Thanks, Jim. Yes, it’s human nature. But it was quite funny. Of course, he had worked hard on the lawn, too. Just needed a little bit of rain — not the amount that we got. Thanks for your comment. Your name will be in the drawing!

      Like

  8. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Guess some days you cant win all that time wishing for rain then only to have the soil wash away. 😦

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

