Morning Walk

In my morning walk, a sparrow watches me.

In my morning walk, a sparrow watches me.

Three horses watch someone, too.

Three horses watch someone, too.

Cougar is walking, too, and watching.

Cougar is walking, too, and watching.

The someone the horses were watching has a bucket in his hand. Feed? Maybe.

The someone the horses were watching has a bucket in his hand. Feed? Maybe.

Mama Cat has had breakfast and is now basking in the warmth of the sun as she washes her face.

Nearby, a squirrel comes down from a tree and scurries across a log in a brush pile.

Nearby, a squirrel comes down from a tree and scurries across a log in a brush pile.

The sparrow is still watching.

The sparrow is still watching.

This sparrow’s house once belonged exclusively to bluebirds. The bluebirds lost the battle again this spring.

Golden-striped mushrooms breaking through the earth.

Golden-striped mushrooms breaking through the earth.

At the end of my morning walk, I find the purple iris ( from bulbs that were once my mother's) blown over by yesterday's unrelenting wind.

At the end of my morning walk, I find the purple iris ( from bulbs that were once my mother’s) blown over by yesterday’s unrelenting wind.

7 comments on “Morning Walk

  1. I Wilkerson says:

    Nice pictures. We are getting some spring, so at least I don’t need to live mine vicariously through yours anymore. This morning I saw my very first oriole (of my whole life!) and I thought I would share that with you! Still grinning it was so lovely.

    Like

  2. I love morning walks around my house…and I so enjoyed yours…I loved the photo of the birdhouse…

    Like

    • A story of the birdhouse. We have two. Once our first one was lower to the ground, and my husband put it higher on the pole because a cat tried to get the bluebirds. And he put tin around the poles. Then my brother gave us another bluebird house–he had built it for a Christmas gift. During one winter, the sparrows took over in both birdhouses. Bluebirds still come in spring scouting for a place to build a nest, but the sparrows won’t budge. And the bluebirds are too gentle to fight. I hope the bluebirds build somewhere close in the trees, so that I can see and photograph them again, this summer.

      Like

  3. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Well that was a nice walk through nature

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

