A Lamp to Guide

San Juan Capistrano
God’s word is like a lamp that guides my feet
when evil tries to push them far away
from narrow path that leads to golden street
of Heaven, where I want to go someday.
God’s love is like a lamp that shines soft white
into my heart to ship away black sin
and steers the way through shadows of dark night
until bright sunbeams glow like flames within.
Forgiven, I am now the Shepherd’s own.
Redeemed, I daily walk with Him throughout
the tangled pathways strewn with jagged stone.
His power shields me from each blackened doubt.
You, too, can have redemption that I claim:
forgiveness asked in Jesus’ Holy Name.
 

© 2014 Freeda Baker Nichols

A winner at Ozark Creative Writers in 2000

12 comments on “A Lamp to Guide

  1. dotlatjohn says:

    I already knew you lived your life this way just from being with you, but I like the way you expressed it in the poem.

    Like

  2. These words ring true all of the time…

    Like

  3. Catherine Johnson says:

    Lovely!

    Like

  4. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Good way to start the day. 🙂

    Like

  5. spunkonastick says:

    Amen, that was beautiful.

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

