Free To Those Who Qualify

Oh, how I wanted a streamlined rocket ship
like Luke and Patty bought in ‘fifty-three!
Or one like Sam and Kay took on their trip
in Space where the Stars and Stripes wave free.
They traded in their shiny hover cars
for spacecraft well equipped with window view.
They rocketed to Moon and then to Mars,
did not invite me, left me here to stew.
Today, I smile and preen with pride of heart.
I got a raise, but friends are very few–
those few and I began to break apart.
We had a spat on Solar Avenue.
They needed dough to fix their rocket’s deck.
Their nerve! They asked me for my Welfare check!

 

Ā© 2014 Freeda Baker Nichols

Embed from Getty Images

13 comments on “Free To Those Who Qualify

  1. So who’s going to take me to work next Monday on Neptune, then???

    Like

  2. Catherine Johnson says:

    Fun one, Freeda!

    Like

    • Thanks, Catherine. How soon will your new site be launched?

      Like

      • Catherine Johnson says:

        I’ve hardly worked on it, Freeda. I do have a friend who is making my header though, so I’ll slowly get things ready. I hope I can move the rest of my blog posts over, scary stuff lol.

        Like

        • I can imagine. Don’t think I could manage that without lots of help. I’m not sure if I will transfer to my own site. I’m thinking of slowing down on the blogging. Takes too much time away from writing fiction. I love it though.

          Like

  3. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Well here I am again starting my day the right way by reading your poem. Have to say you have made several good points. But never give in to those who ask you to give and give again. Say no way that check is mine. šŸ™‚

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

