Laughter and Lemonade

Recalling my first taste of lemonade

from tall, cold glasses served from patio

to me in hammock deep in leafy shade

of tree that held Mom’s swing long years ago,

I grinned and thanked her for such gentle care.

The years were rolling silver dollars spent.

My mom and I lived our lives unaware–

it seemed–that change could come without a hint —

one day it happened instantly in time.

How strange! I did not notice right at first —

when hands of kindness ceased their pantomime,

and shook until my world collapsed, then burst.

When bands of angels flew from Heaven’s shade

they took the one who poured sweet lemonade.

© 2014 Freeda Baker Nichols

Mother's Day Card from Tammy

13 comments on “Laughter and Lemonade

  1. Phyllis Knight says:

    How well written is this, touches the heart too. I loved my Momma also, and she is gone long time now.

    Like

  2. Linda Baie says:

    This is wonderful Freeda, love in a cool glass of lemonade is a perfect way to show love, from your point of view, and from your mother’s I suspect.

    Like

    • Yes, her lemonade was the best. She made it in a white china pitcher, and now I have handed that down to my second daughter, whose middle name is my mother’s first name, but not the name Mama was called. Sweet memories!

      Like

  3. dotlatjohn says:

    Your writing conveys your love for your family, especially your parents so sweetly. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. kayladean says:

    Beautiful! I love the line “and shook until my world collapsed, then burst.” It makes it seem like her love was the hammock that you were lying in–and you literally crashed to the ground.

    Like

  5. I Wilkerson says:

    How touching! Hope you are having a great Easter Freeda.

    Like

  6. I Wilkerson says:

    How touching.

    Happy Easter Freeda!

    Like

  7. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Wonderful

    Like

  8. Catherine Johnson says:

    Beautiful!

    Like

  9. As I have said before…Your words paint pictures…beautiful!

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

