Daddy’s Felt Hat

Walter Baker

Walter Baker

The hat of felt my daddy wore was bent
around the edges of its sweat-soaked brim;
my daddy wore it everywhere he went.
I keep it now in memory of him.
Inside a box it sits on closet shelf.
I often think I should discard it now,
and yet I simply cannot bring myself
to throw away the hat he wore to plow.
My daddy’s strength, his heart, his steel-blue eyes
made straight my path and edged my walk with pride
and gave me hope beneath bright sun-filled skies,
gray-dimmed and damp the day my daddy died.
The hat of rich worn felt looks out-of-place
away from daddy’s deep-lined, humble face.

Copyright 2012, Freeda Baker Nichols

4 comments on “Daddy’s Felt Hat

  1. Alice says:

    Oh, hats–my dad had one for every occasion–going to the bank, summer vacation…they are dear. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

