Daddy’s Felt Hat

I’d like to reblog this poem, and add the photo of my dad with my three brothers.

Freeda Baker Nichols

The hat of felt my daddy wore was bent
around the edges of its sweat-soaked brim;
my daddy wore it everywhere he went.
I keep it now in memory of him.
Inside a box it sits on closet shelf.
I often think I should discard it now,
and yet I simply cannot bring myself
to throw away the hat he wore to plow.
My daddy’s strength, his heart, his steel-blue eyes
made straight my path and edged my walk with pride
and gave me hope beneath bright sun-filled skies,
gray-dimmed and damp the day my daddy died.
    The hat of rich worn felt looks out-of-place
    away from daddy’s deep-lined, humble face. 

c Copyright 2012, Freeda Baker Nichols

This Shakespearean sonnet is one of my favorites.

View original post

This entry was posted in WRITING.

9 comments on “Daddy’s Felt Hat

  1. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Such a good poem. (Y)

    Like

  2. Linda Baie says:

    I have a few hats too, Freeda. This is beautifully written. I’m glad you like it too. That’s the best! Love “I keep it now in memory of him.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Catherine Johnson says:

    Beautiful tribute to your dad, Freeda.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dot Hatfield says:

    Oh, Freeda, I like this one too. My daddy always wore a hat every day, too, and I have one of his later ones. One of those things I can’t “thin out.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. patlaster says:

    The picture I saw had no head nor hat. But a good idea to post the picture of your dad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pat, if you click on the photo of the Related Post, it brings up a full view of another poem, with a photo selected from free internet images.

      For today’s poem, I followed through with my idea of a photo of my dad and his hat, this morning, when my time permitted. And re-posted. Thanks, Pat. Hope all is going well with your sequel.

      Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

