I REMEMBER DADDY

These horses are the same color as two mules my daddy owned in the late 1940's,

These horses are the same color as two mules my daddy owned in the late 1940’s,

I Remember Daddy

I liked to watch my daddy bale the hay
and haul it to the barn at end of day
where little sister and I used to play.
We climbed up in the loft so we could see
our daddy drive the mules, Shorty and Kate,
up from the hayfield, then on through the gate.
Our mama called from kitchen, “Don’t be late,”
and then she sat with baby on her knee.
Those days were short it seems when I recall
the heat, the smell of new-mown hay in stall.
What fun when daddy made the final haul
and walked back to the house with Sis and me.
At supper time , we bowed our heads for grace;
the baby’s cooing lit up Daddy’s face.

© Freeda Baker Nichols

10 comments on “I REMEMBER DADDY

  1. I Wilkerson says:

    What a lovely tribute! It sounds like you had a warm and happy childhood.

    Like

  2. What a lovely tribute to your father. The poem was homey and reminded me of days visiting an uncle’s farm.

    Like

  3. Daddy’s are quite special…when you have a good one…Glad I did…This is great!

    Like

  4. Dot Hatfield says:

    Very nice, Freeda. I like the rhythm and of course the sentiment.

    Like

  5. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Another good one 🙂

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

