‘Coon Dog

DSC_0188

‘Coon Dog

The hound–he came to be my dog one night.
I made a trade so I could hunt a coon.
The owner took my roping dummy bright
and said the dog would tree by light of moon.
In an old shed I made a bed of straw.
The dog lay down and did not even whine.
He was the best ‘coon dog I ever saw
and I was happy that he now was mine.
The first night that I took him on a hunt,
he barked and barked and tried to climb a tree.
I saw a tiny raccoon — just a runt –
his sparking eyes, they seemed to plead with me.
I slowly put my gun down by my side
and listened to my ‘coon dog bay with pride.

© 2014 Freeda Baker Nichols

DSC_0195

14 comments on “‘Coon Dog

  1. Love the stories you tell… My nephews have their hunting dogs…and they are treated with loving care!

    Like

  2. Catherine Johnson says:

    Brilliant, Freeda! I love the name Coon dog.

    Like

  3. The Editors of Garden Variety says:

    Lovely poem!

    Like

  4. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Smart dog and glad you listened, the coon I would say on that day was being protected by the power of dog spelled backwards, it wasn’t meant to be that coons time.

    Like

  5. Alice says:

    Awww…my Harper is 1/2 coonhound, and those dogs are characters! That first bay scares the daylights out of any critter. She also grumbles and purrs–really!

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

