Spring Song

Only Memories Remain Copyright, Freeda Baker Nichols

Only Memories Remain
Copyright, Freeda Baker Nichols

Spring Song

In spring, irises bloom purple,
and a covey of speckled quails
resides next to an old log house
inside a fence of weathered rails.

A father built the bungalow
with logs he cut from woods nearby.
He built a cradle, too, of oak–
a mother sang a lullaby.

When irises bloom, I visit
the cottage by an old oak tree.
A calm and tender morning breeze
reaches out and touches me.

A cradle rocks — is it the wind?
Who is humming that sweet refrain?
Is it my mother’s gentle voice
singing me to sleep again?

© Freeda Baker Nichols

11 comments on “Spring Song

  1. Your homestead looks just like my Grandma’s home in the country…
    Two front doors…One to living room and one to bedroom…
    I remember swinging arond the posts on the porch…

    Like

    • Marilyn, my homestead is the painting that’s the header on my blog–a house with one front door.

      The picture of the old house with two front doors was taken on a highway here in Arkansas. I don’t know who lived there. I thought it worked with my poem, but I wanted a picture of an iris in bloom.

      On our porch we had cedar posts and I recall swinging around those, too. lol

      Like

  2. Catherine Johnson says:

    Lovely!

    Like

  3. Spring seems so far away after 15 inches of snow!

    Like

  4. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    I would like to think it is more than the wind that bring the memories to you, giving you the talent that you share with others.

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

