Christmas Gift for Gran

a shop at Mt. View -1Too Late

The Christmas I was barely eight,
I found a plate
at Privitt’s Store
I wanted more
than anything to buy for Gran.
I soon began
to count my cash,
then like a flash,
I flew to get the present, when,
in walked Miss Jenn
who picked the prize
before my eyes.

© 2013 Freeda Baker Nichols

Christmas in the post-War United States

10 comments on “Christmas Gift for Gran

  1. Gayle says:

    Nicely written, Freeda! I, too, have saved for things that weren’t there when I finally got enough. Never had one picked up right in front of me, though. I would have been in tears!

    Like

  2. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Wish you had gotten it, kind of sad. I have always loved the hobnail glass items. Well at least your heart was in the right place and you tried.

    Like

  3. spunkonastick says:

    That is crushing for a child!

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

