NaBloPoMo#14 The Air Force and Daffodils

An USAF C-54 Skymaster

An USAF C-54 Skymaster (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Royal portable typewriter

Royal portable typewriter (Photo credit: alexkerhead)

My first story was written  by hand and then typed on a small, Royal portable typewriter.  I lived in Spain at that time, in an apartment  just outside the gate of Torrejon Air Base. My husband was in the U.S. Air Force and with our children we lived in a three-bedroom, second-floor apartment. My story was based on my experience of living the nomadic military life and my concern about its effect on our children. At that time, we had a son and a daughter; later we had another son and another daughter.

My first title to that story written in Spain, was “A Home for Jimmy.”  It has not been published. Markets for that type of story changed before I had a chance to offer it for publication.  When I entered it in a contest, I titled it “The Air Force and Daffodils.”

Still in my files, this story has a home somewhere — perhaps it will help fill the pages
of a collection of Short Stories by Freeda Baker Nichols.   That’s my aim. 🙂

http://www.blogher.com/blogher-topics/blogging-social-media/nablopomo

8 comments on “NaBloPoMo#14 The Air Force and Daffodils

  1. dotlatjohn says:

    I’d love to read your story. Also, what a gift in looking back for you and your children to experience other cultures.

    Like

    • I’d love to visit Spain again. Our daughter-in-law and our grandson took a tour to Madrid a few years ago, and snapped pictures of a park where Gene and I and Greg and Tammy had taken walks. We lived in Spain for three years. It’s a beautiful country.

      Like

    • Dorothy, I aimed that story for magazines, like Redbook, but I’ve never sent it out. Maybe, I can share it with you, sometime.

      Like

  2. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    You must have had a very interesting life during the time your husband was in the Military, and a busy one. The different places you lived raising your children and writing. I would bet there could be many stories you could tell and books you could write around your experiences.

    Like

    • Yes, it was a good career for him in many ways, but sad, too, for our family to be sent so far away from our own extended families However, we enjoyed great camaraderie with other military families, who were from all parts of the U.S. And yes, there’s much material from which to begin stories.

      Like

  3. Catherine Johnson says:

    That’s a fabulous idea! What about an e-book?

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

