Return to the Homeplace

Plums with some glaucous coating visible

I walked along a dusty country lane
where roses wound around in wild bouquets.
I saw the house with broken windowpane
beneath a cluster of green ivy leis.
A chimney covered with a thick-leaf maze
half-leaned like lanky sentinel of late
who guarded secrets of forgotten days
as though his duty was so very great.
Blue smoke no longer drifted way up high.
No voices filled the air with lively hum.
The well that gave fresh water had gone dry.
The orchard though was purple proud with plum.
The taste of juicy plums’ sweet memory
then yanked my yesterdays back home to me.

© Freeda Baker Nichols

Photo source: Wikipedia

14 comments on “Return to the Homeplace

  1. dotlatjohn says:

    Beautiful! I love it. Poignant imagery.

    Like

  2. Love the mention of the plums…for sure a memory recalled…

    Like

  3. Well at least the plums radiate life to some degree here. I suppose one theme expressed here is hope, that in spite of the darkness a bit of light remains with a promise of rebirth someday. On the other hand I think my jerk English professors of 45 years ago would call my interpretation ridiculous and give me another F .

    Like

  4. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    M M M just looking at the tree with the ripe plums ready for the picking just makes my mouth water, also brought back memories of the plum tree grandma had in the back yard and the jelly and jam she would can every year.

    Like

  5. rayfaraz49 says:

    Reblogged this on rayfaraz.

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

