Speechless

My granddaughter who’s four
ignored my fears,
pierced her small ears,
and I can’t find my voice
to reprimand her more;
her mom, you see,
was twenty-three
before she made that choice.

© Freeda Baker Nichols

This Jaleen form is 8 lines with exact syllable count: 6-4-4-6-6-4-4-6.  It rhymes  a, b, b, c, a, d, d, c. It was the perfect form for me to record an experience with my granddaughter who teased me by sticking some fake earrings on her ear lobes and telling me she had pierced her ears.  It’s always a happy time when an experience like that turns into a poem to keep the memory vivid.

7 comments on “Speechless

  1. […] Sowell’s poetry and posts a couple of her own poems in the Jaleen pattern (here and here). I’m grateful to Freeda for helping refresh my memory about where I’d first […]

    Like

  2. Catherine Johnson says:

    Super poem. Some kids round here where earrings at that age, Idon’t like it. What if they refuse to have the second one done. And it’s not less painful because they are younger.

    Like

  3. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    🙂

    Like

  4. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Well she did get your attention 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, she did. She had on little stick-on play earrings, and I believed her mother had probably let her get pierced ears. She was four and her sister was six and they had fun fooling their grandma. 🙂

      Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

