My Banner Mountain Homeplace

My Homeplace on Banner Mountain My sister painted the panorama from looking at snapshots from family albums, and from her memory. The pickup is a Chevrolet. When all seven children left home, my parents moved away from Banner to live near one of the children. As time went by, unattended, the house and structures gradually left, too. Now, only the storm shelter and two wells are reminders that our family once lived there. But memories of our Banner Mountain are still strong in the minds of four remaining siblings of the Baker Family.  by Freeda Baker Nichols

My Homeplace on Banner Mountain
My sister painted the panorama from looking at snapshots from family albums, and from her memory. The pickup is a Chevrolet. When all seven children left home, my parents moved away from Banner to live near one of the children. As time went by, unattended, the house and structures gradually left, too. Now, only the storm shelter and two wells are reminders that our family once lived there. But memories of our Banner Mountain are still strong in the minds of four remaining siblings of the Baker Family.
by Freeda Baker Nichols
Photo is copyrighted. All rights reserved.

 

 

12 comments on “My Banner Mountain Homeplace

  1. Beaitiful “all American” lookin’ scene. Sure beats Miami.

    Like

  2. Didn’t your sister do your book cover too? It’s so nice to see more of her work–this is gorgeous! Would the two of you ever team up for a children’s book?

    Like

  3. That’s why I felt this was so like your writings…It’s where it all began…lovely, just lovely!

    Like

  4. Dorothy Johnson says:

    I love the picture by your sister and your comments. She’s talented, as are you.

    Like

  5. patlaster says:

    Oh, yeah–that explains it very well. Good job!

    Like

    • I’ve needed this because Banner Mountain is sort of a theme for my posts. But I didn’t know how to post it, until Yvonne told me to take a snapshot of it, and that worked. I was thinking I’d have to take a photo and scan it, but not so. Electronics are amazing. Thanks Pat.

      Like

  6. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    What a shame the house is no longer there

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

