No Like Frittata

Crozier/fiddlehead of a mamaku tree fern in Ta...

Crozier/fiddlehead of a mamaku tree fern in Tararua Forest Park, New Zealand. Curled up tip about 5cm in diameter. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Fiddlehead Frittata

Fiddlehead Frittata

No Like Frittata

I ate a bite of fiddlehead
on baked brown bread
with goat white cheese–
it made me sneeze.
First time I’d tasted this new dish
and now I wish
I never had.
I feel too bad.
Down South cafes don’t serve the  stuff–
it is too tough
for goodness sakes!
My tummy aches!

© Copyright 2013, Freeda Baker Nichols

21 comments on “No Like Frittata

  1. I’ve always heard of fiddleheads and felt sad I hadn’t tried them. Now I feel a bit less sad 😉

    Like

  2. Perhaps it is an acquired taste Freeda!
    Your poem makes me smile, and wish for some good Irish brown bread.
    Glad we collaborated together on this fun poem posting for Amy and Catherine. 🙂

    Like

  3. I don’t know if I would like them either, Freeda…but I did read that the flavor resembles asparagus, which I love.
    Like them or not…I loved your poem. Very fun!

    Like

    • Hi Penny. Yes, this has been fun. I doubt that my poem is convincing enough to prevent anyone from trying Fiddlehead Frittata. 🙂 All in fun! I’m now following your blog and looking forward to it. Have seen you mentioned often by Catherine.

      Like

  4. I am smiling away over here – such fun! How I wish I could have you over to taste some fiddleheads…they truly are delicious. Thank you very much for the poem – I was so surprised! xo, a.

    Like

    • Hi Amy! I’d love to try the fiddleheads. Probably I would like them. My poem sort of “traveled its own way” and I worried a bit, then decided to go with it! 🙂 I visited your blog and love it. I tried to sign up for email subscription but can’t get it to work. Will definitely try again. Glad we surprised you. And brought you a smile. Thanks to Catherine Johnson.

      Like

  5. Never ate…never seen (that I know of)… but, curiosity will have me checking this plant out…
    How interesting… and I think the poem was the cutest!

    Like

  6. Dorothy Johnson says:

    As one of my grandsons says, “It doesn’t sound delicious!

    Like

  7. I enjoyed your take on the fiddlehead frittata conundrum. I’m with you — they’re pretty to look at, but I’m not inclined to eat them!

    Like

  8. Catherine Johnson says:

    Brilliant, Freeda! I wonder what they taste like on their own.

    Like

  9. […] have a neat surprise for a lovely lady today. Poet buddies Cathy Ballou Mealey, Freeda Baker Nichols and Penny Klostermann have each written a poem about Fiddleheads to go with this […]

    Like

  10. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    🙂 at least you know what it is, i will remember what you wrote about it if i ever come across it and be very sure not to eat it

    Like

    • Believe me, Ginger Kemp Pruett, I did not know what it was until I checked dictionary.com. You see, I agreed with a poet friend that I’d be one of a few poets to write a poem about a fiddlehead to post tomorrow as a surprise for another poet. I sincerely hope my poem is in good taste. 🙂 I’m not sure I’d want to eat a fiddlehead, but I suppose they might be a delicacy.

      Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

