Sunflower – Day Ten – NaPoWriMo

Sunflower and seeds

The sunflower bows its head
standing there in my front yard.
The sun comes up bright and red.
The sunflower bows its head.
Now look how the seeds have spread.
Will they grow in soil so hard?
The sunflower bows its head
standing there in my front yard.

Copyright , 2013, Freeda Baker Nichols

8 comments on “Sunflower – Day Ten – NaPoWriMo

  1. I Wilkerson says:

    Our school used to send next year’s kindergarteners sunflower seeds every year. They were supposed to act as a kind of summer clock so the kids would know when school would start. I have really appreciated them ever since.

    Like

  2. Dorothy Johnson says:

    I like this. It reminded me of a year when a large sunflower volunteered in a front yard flower bed. Perhaps deposited there by a passing bird! It was magnificent.

    Like

  3. […] got my inspiration from Freeda (Bless her she wrote another one) and Margaret’s triolets. I fancy playing around with this […]

    Like

  4. Catherine Johnson says:

    That’s so cool of you to write one, Freeda! Now I’ll just link to this :0)

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

