JUST LIKE MY GRANNY

Château de Cheverny, Loir-et-Cher, France - ga...

Château de Cheverny, Loir-et-Cher, France – gardens, lupines and peonies (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

She was a blossom picked for God‘s bouquet,
my mama said regarding Granny Crete.
Then Mama planted peonies in clay
with hope they would survive the summer heat.

Pale pink
starched cotton
the dress I wore
to church that day.

The preacher said that Heaven is a place
where loved ones go to be with God and wait.
And now my mama is there waiting, too.
She was a blossom picked for God’s bouquet.

C Copyright, Freeda Baker Nichols

Dorsimbra pattern. Published in Poets’ Roundtable of Arkansas Anthology

8 comments on “JUST LIKE MY GRANNY

  1. Dorothy Johnson says:

    Your sweet poem made me think of my Dad’s mother. When she was able, almost her entire yard was a flower garden. It was my dad who inherited her love for gardening and as long as he lived we had a variety of beautiful flowers that my mother cut and put on the dining table even when it was just the family.

    Like

  2. Ginger, enjoy each moment, even the difficult times . . .

    Like

  3. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Like this one, makes one stop and think for a moment about things and most of all about our mothers now and in the past. The saying “time flys” is so very true. I think and probably do know what the next venture in my own moms life will be, hopefully things lately have/will make me a stronger person too.

    Like

  4. why does that bring a tear to my eye?…beautiful!

    Like

  5. Rita Dortch says:

    I love this Freeda. So beautiful.

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

