Blueblood

My grandmother.
Her braided hair wound around
her head twice. Her blue eyes
smiled when her lips did.
She sang delightfully–
like the voice of a robin in April.
Her hands were warm and strong.
They made awesome chocolaty
sweets! She gave me hugs–
whether I wanted them or not.
Her dog, Bulger, toothless and cranky,
was a bulldog. The highest breed.

Copyright, 2013, Freeda Baker Nichols

10 comments on “Blueblood

  1. I wish I could figure out how to get my reply to connect with the right person who commented.

    Like

  2. Take all the hugs you can get…a perfect Grandmother!

    Like

  3. Dorothy Johnson says:

    My best friend’s granny wore her hair in braids wound around the top of her head. i remember seeing it down one day. it reached to her waist. I had never seen grey hair that long before!

    Like

  4. spunkonastick says:

    Hugs whether I wanted them or not – LOL!

    Like

  5. shrinksarentcheap says:

    if only someone will write this about me one day.

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

