I Remember Mama

My mother wore her hair in braids
and dressed in velvets and brocades;
her sparkling eyes,
an apt disguise–
above her iridescent dress;
her hands contained a warm caress.

As strange as it may seem to you,
it is not gowns of velvet blue
that I recall;
it is her shawl,
in tatters, placed across her lap
when she would rock-a-bye my nap.

c Copyright, 2013 Freeda Baker Nichols

(A Butterfly Sequence)

12 comments on “I Remember Mama

  1. kayladean says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your mother. And so true, it is the simple things in life we remember, not the extravagant.

    Like

    • Thank you, Kayla. My mother was an ordinary, old-fashioned, special mother. She was just as loving to the grandchildren, too.
      What joy to see her with my baby on her lap, wrapping her apron over the little one’s feet, while rocking and humming the notes to a gospel song.

      Like

  2. Need to post your first Mom poem…This one is beautiful…My Grandmother had the long hair and braided…and a neighbor lady…Loved watching her comb it…and braid it…and then do the wrapping around her head…Great memory!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. spunkonastick says:

    It was like a safety blanket.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dorothy Johnson says:

    Lovely. You obviously loved and admired your mother!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    With this one i in my minds eye can close my eyes and picture both my mom and my grandma, i would sit and watch grandma braid that long hair, wrap the braid to a bun. Many of your poems inspire me so much. They are calming at times as this one is.

    Like

    • My mother’s hair was very long, and she braided two braids and wound them around her head, at least twice. I never saw her in short hair, though I’ve seen pictures of her in short hair when she was young.

      Thanks for your comment, Ginger.

      Like

  6. Rita Dortch says:

    I love this, Freeda. It is so beautiful.

    Like

    • Rita, Thanks. This short Butterfly Pattern worked well to showcase my memory. My very first poem was written to my mother when I was about eight or nine years old. I wrote it at school, and I still have a copy of it.

      Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

