The Love of a Good Man

The chocolates that he brought were cherry-filled.
They tasted sweet when melted on my tongue.
He squeezed my hand so tightly that it thrilled
my heart–back then–when we were very young.
The diamond ring he gave to me shone bright
as golden sequins on a gown of green.
Like sparkling stars that complement the night,
the ring would please a gem-collecting queen.
And now our lives are passing in review.
Though yellow strands of hair have turned to gray,
he holds my hand the way he used to do.
Still thrilled, I’m thankful that he came to stay.
I found true love that changed my way of life
the day when I became this good man’s wife.

c Copyright 2013, Freeda Baker Nichols

 

The Shakespearean Sonnet — one of my favorites.

12 comments on “The Love of a Good Man

  1. spunkonastick says:

    And the good ones we hang on to.

    Like

  2. 🙂 Thanks, Inger and Marilyn. Happy Valentine’s Day.

    Like

  3. How touching! And perfect for Valentine’s Day!

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts and commented:
    To me…this poem by Freeda Nichols says it all…Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Like

  5. Says it all…truly loved this…Aren’t we blessed to have good men beside us…

    Like

  6. Catherine Johnson says:

    Awh, very sweet indeed!

    Like

  7. Dorothy Johnson says:

    Sweet! And, yes, you got a good man. He didn’t do so bad himself!

    Like

  8. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    🙂 the poem says it all very nicely.

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

