Book a Flight for Me

This is the last day of January 2013, and today’s post contains the 31st poem I’ve written and posted during this month. Because I missed the deadline to join a group of bloggers writing new poems this month, I decided to write on my own and post daily.  This came about at the suggestion of my  lovely friend, a poet Catherine Johnson      who has a beautiful blog. Her reviews of books, especially children’s books, are helpful and interesting. She’s a good poet. I recommend a visit to her blog.  You will be amazed at her talent and energy.

After today’s poem, I will not be posting every day.  I’ve loved every day of creating a new poem, and I’ll miss posting each day, but I want to get back to my short story, and the marketing of my novel, Call of the Cadron. I’m planning a couple of book signings in the spring.

The poem I’ve chosen for today is a tercet form with varying refrain.

Book a Flight for Me

Watch the river run downstream
where the hot sun sends its beam
and the fish are like a dream
and catch a perch for me.

Feel the warmth of the setting sun
when the day is almost done
where the great race horses run
and make a bet for me.

Look up at the turquoise sky
see the big airplanes go by
how they travel way up high.
Book a flight for me.

c Copyright 2013, Freeda Baker Nichols

Misc. nov 26 -2011-Mar 27-2012 054

24 comments on “Book a Flight for Me

  1. Thanks to Martha York of Houston, who commented on this through Facebook. I think I will always love the rhymed ones. This one, too, is one of my favorites out of this bunch of poems.

    Like

  2. Dorothy Johnson says:

    Nice poem, Freeda. Wriitng a poem a day for a month is impressive to me. good job!

    Like

  3. Dot Hatfield says:

    I love this, Freeda. I like the form. Good for you completing the goal of a poem a day. Love, D

    Like

  4. Gracias, to Pat Laster, mi amiga. Thanks for all your help and encouragement with my writing. (I replied to your comment but my computer often does not show the reply with the original comment. Don’t know why)

    Like

  5. patlaster says:

    Nice way to leave your humongous task of a poem a day. Kudos to you.

    Like

  6. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Well Freeda i was trying to send a thumbs up but for some reason it didnt work on the blog like it does on FB, so at least you will know what i was trying to do.

    Like

  7. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Sorry about the mistake the (Y) was supposed to be (y)

    Like

  8. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    Well you did it. Have enjoyed the month of poems. This final one of the month i like very much. Now you are flying away from posting every day but i will still be on the lookout for those to come as the year goes on. I will leave with a 🙂 and a (Y) for the day

    Like

    • Hey, thanks, Ginger. And thanks for the clue. I had no idea that the (Y) was meant for “thumbs up.” You never know what these electronic gadgets are going to do. It takes brave people to attempt communication these days. 🙂

      Like

  9. Catherine Johnson says:

    You are so lovely, Freeda. Thank you for everything! Congrats on a poem a day. So you’re not joining me for month of haiku lol.
    You can be my critiquer 😉 I’m terrible at haiku.
    Love this last poem and good luck with book promoting. Is it possible to get it listed on Goodreads and LibraryThing?

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

