Christmas Hope

I cut the tree and pulled it up the path
where boots had left imprints in drifts of snow.Footprints in snow 009 

A song of love inside my heart released
old memories that stirred my soul to move
like dancing stars around a velvet vest.
So long ago I walked this way with him
and wore a gown of red with velvet vest
to find a tree just right for only two.
We cut it down with sharpened axe of steel
and laughingly foot-raced each other home.
He took the star I made of wrinkled foil
and placed it high upon the cedar limb.
We had no gifts beneath the tree that year;
without a job we barely had our food–
and so we knelt and turned our hearts to God.
Today, I took my handkerchief and wiped
small flecks of snow away from blurry lens,
adjusted frames of gold behind my ears,
as silently the falling flakes of snow
soon hushed the sound of tears inside of me.
At home, I put the dull and jagged axe
away to use another Christmas time.
The faded star of wrinkled foil still glows
above my tree where hope is shaped like bells
I cut from crumpled velvet vest of red.

c Copyright, 2012, Freeda Baker Nichols

 

 

7 comments on “Christmas Hope

  1. Catherine Johnson says:

    Beautiful words, Freeda! (from outside a pizza shop on the way to friends)

    Like

    • I’m honored to receive your comment (from outside a pizza shop on your way to friends. Isn’t the internet amazing, all the electronics that make things happen instantly? Thank you and enjoy your visit with friends.

      Like

  2. Thanks, Dorothy. How amazing the electronic world, because I know you are on the road traveling to your Atlanta Christmas.

    Like

  3. Dorothy Johnson says:

    Nice poem and picture!

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

