Quotes from my diary and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

“I am never indifferent and never pretend to be, to what people say or think of my books. They are my children, and I like to have them liked.”  Quote by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Excerpt from my 1980 diary:  ” I understand this quotation by Longfellow. My writing, too, is a part of me and I want people to like it. I must realize,  of course, that not all people will like what I write, just as not all people like me. I must learn to be content with those who do like me.”

Freeda Baker Nichols

19 comments on “Quotes from my diary and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

  1. […] Quotes from my diary and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (freedanichols.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. […] Quotes from my diary and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow […]

    Like

  3. Thanks to eof737. 🙂

    Like

  4. eof737 says:

    I like the quote and try to not worry about the rest. 🙂

    Like

  5. […] Quotes from my diary and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (freedanichols.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  6. […] Quotes from my diary and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (freedanichols.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  7. […] Quotes from my diary and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow […]

    Like

  8. […] Quotes from my diary and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (freedanichols.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  9. Alice says:

    Wonderful and honest quote and journal entry.

    Like

  10. So is it surprising or reassuring to see your same self back in your 1980 diaries?

    Like

    • Surprising, I think. And I experience some healthy laughter about some entries. This diary was designed by Writer’s Digest with quotes along the margins. So when I came across my response in the diary to Longfellow’s quote in the margin, I had to share it with the world. 🙂

      Like

  11. Ginger Kemp Pruett says:

    People who cant do are usually the ones to give negative remarks, ignore and stay strong. Many times in reality they are really wishing they could accomplish as much in life as the person they are talking about has done in their life. Just keep a smile on your face. 🙂

    Like

  12. Rita Dortch says:

    I understand completely what you are saying. Criticism feels like someone just told me that I have an ugly baby.;}

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

