Replacing the Toothpaste Cap

When my husband leaves
the cap off the toothpaste tube,
sometimes I complain,
but more often than not,
I replace the cap.
His dogs adore him;
they lick his hand,
and stick close by.
His horses trust him.
They neigh their
thanks in the evening
when he takes them feed.
He tells me, “See why
I must be home by dark?”
He removes his hat,
gives a firm salute
when our flag passes by.
He opens his Bible
night and morning
in total commitment.
He speeds but not enough
to get a ticket, won’t
park in a handicap slot,
though he’s qualified.
When I say, “The doves
are few this year,”
he replies, “Love you too, Dear.”
And that’s why, most of the time,
I replace the cap on the toothpaste.

c Copyright 2012, Freeda Baker Nichols

19 comments on “Replacing the Toothpaste Cap

  1. Kim says:

    How very sweet. This describes true love and caring in small but real ways. Made me smile and hug my husband.

    Like

  2. How clever, Dorothy Johnson. I never thought of that!

    Like

  3. Tammy says:

    Mom, this really captures true love!

    Tammy

    Like

  4. Dot Hatfield says:

    I really love this poem, Freeda. It’s about real love.

    Like

  5. spunkonastick says:

    That’s why I just reload the dishwasher behind my husband without saying a word.

    Like

  6. Pitty Patter.blogspot.com/ pittypatter.blogspot.com says:

    Poignant! Visual! Love it.

    Like

  7. Rita Dortch says:

    I love this, Freeda!

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

