FOR MAMA

       The wild azaleas
       were bright
       against the green forest.
       Their limbs
       snapped easily
       and lay like pearls
       in her small hands;
       she hurried home.
       Her mama opened the door;
       the child unloaded
       her treasures.
       Her mama wrapped them
       quickly
       with a fruit jar,
       half-filled with water
       from the well,
       then turned to her daughter
       who smiled
       brighter than
       all the azaleas
       left in the forest.

Published in Arkansas Democrat Magazine
c Copyright 2012, Freeda Baker Nichols

8 comments on “FOR MAMA

  1. Tammy says:

    I love this poem, Mom, and I love you!

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    Love,
    Tammy

    Like

    • Love you, too, Tammy. You know, I did pick wild azaleas in the woods to give to Mama. Probably not on Mother’s Day. As I child, I don’t recall knowing about a special day to honor mothers. I had fun just taking her a bouquet.

      Like

  2. How sweet! Perfect for Mother’s Day!

    Like

    • I must check out the recipe for those Meringue Topped Bars you were baking for Mother’s Day! My daughter, two grand-daughters, and great-grand-daughter came to visit me today. I’ve had a good day!

      Like

  3. Rita Dortch says:

    I loved it, Freeda. I wish today that I could hug my momma and give her some flowers.

    Like

  4. Pitty Patter.blogspot.com/ pittypatter.blogspot.com says:

    Like! pl

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

