What’s in a Title? What’s in a Name?

 Like people with names, books must have titles. Titles of stories and books are important and not always created by the author of the work.

And a newborn foal needs an appropriate name whether it grows up to run a race or to run across a meadow on a fine summer day with a boy guiding the reins.

Story titles do not necessarily represent story content. But some do. Perhaps many do in a subjective way.  “Gone with the Wind” represents the end of an era.  Margaret Mitchell’s working title for her book was ” Tomorrow is Another Day.”

I used a working title from the start of my first novel until near its completion.  A member of my critique group, Rhonda Roberts, whose advice I trust,  suggested that I change the title and she gave reasons why.  After working with my original title for such a long time, this was a difficult decision. Finally, after sifting through a number of titles based on Rhonda’s reasons  for a change, my daughter, Tracy Broadwater,  an avid reader, and I came up with the exact wording for the title. To both of these young ladies, I say “Thanks for my title:  “CALL of the CADRON.”                                  

The characters in my novel sometimes ride horses. Names of horses in the story are: King, Beaut, Sundance, Hobo, Gumbo and Duke.    

        I don’t know the name my grandsons will choose for the foal in the picture below.  But I’m certain they will decide on a very special name for such a fine little filly who arrived at their place just one day ago, on a sunny April morning.

cCopyright, 2012, photo by Freeda Baker Nichols

Crackerjack and newborn foal

Crackerjack and newborn foal

12 comments on “What’s in a Title? What’s in a Name?

  1. The palomino mare and her foal are so very beautiful. Palomino is one of my favorite colors even my doggies are palominos. Have a great day 🙂

    Like

  2. You are indeed blessed, I enjoyed your blog today 🙂 TH

    Like

  3. A newborn foal–how special!

    And titles are stressful–even those of less significance. My college daughter has even called me from Edinburgh (junior year abroad) to consult on her term papers!

    Like

    • How nice that you and your college daughter “stay connected” no matter the distance and regardless the reason–(her term paper questions) I have two daughters and two sons. Family is everything. The focus of my book is on family.

      Like

  4. Dot Hatfield says:

    I know you are READY for your book to be here. The waiting game is not fun. Beautiful foal and I love the name Crackerjack!
    Dot

    Like

    • I’m still wondering what the boys will name the foal. One rancher has advised to wait a week before naming her. The mare’s name was changed to Crackerjack by my grandson when she became his last July.

      Like

  5. Martha York says:

    Love the title and am anxious to get book when it comes out.

    Like

    • Thank you, Martha. You are sure to get your cousin’s autograph! lol When you read the story, notice a minor character’s last name. Harper. Used fictiously, and only once, but there, nonetheless.

      Like

  6. Pitty Patter.blogspot.com/ pittypatter.blogspot.com says:

    Call of the Cadron, huh? Good thing you told CAW for we might be spreading the wrong title around in anticipation of holding the book in our own hands. Cute, cute foal. Surely it will be the inspiration for at least one poem, possibly more. Good job. p

    Like

    • Since Margaret Mitchell’s working title didn’t make it, then, perhaps it’s a good thing mine didn’t make it either! Soon Call of the Cadron will be in our hands and CAW (Central Arkansas Writers) are to be commended for sticking with the critiques of the newly created manuscript until its completion. I appreciate all of you.

      Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

