It’s a Writer’s Life–Page Five–Notes from my Files

FROM MY JOURNAL: Dated 1984

When I write, I should use tools of the trade such as including the five senses within the story.  Sight, hearing, touch, taste, and smell.

I want to start a descriptive work. About spring.  When I think of a day in spring, I think of cool weather, green grass, a blue sky. I think of new flowers, colorful and sweet-smelling. The rough or smooth bark on a tree. The feel of a breeze. The call of a robin. A cup of spiced tea.

 How many days of spring? How many days of summer? How many days of fall? How many days of winter?  How many days in between?

Writing is hard work.  But it is fun.  Work can be fine and fun, too, if you enjoy your job.

How to write a story:  Start a story with a day that’s different.  Put your character in a situation that is unusual for him.  Get the reader curious. Make lots of conflict for your character.  Help him to solve each problem, but in solving each one, a new and worse one appears until he has to make a sacrifice. The sacrifice would seem to destroy him but at the end it turns out to be  a choice whereby he finds  happiness and a solution to his problem.

(This is how I began my novel.  I started with the main character, Jordan Diane Maxey.)
(The books have been ordered and within three weeks, hopefully, they will be on the market.)

 Also from this 1984 journal entry:

 A smile goes a long, long way but stops when it is not returned.

cCopyright, 2012, Freeda Baker Nichols

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

